Member News


< Back to news

Last Sunday, we saw our members competing for the right to be called President’s Prize Winner 2021. Once again, the weather was kind, with good spells of sunshine and only the odd passing shower. Despite heavy rainfall in the days leading up to the event, the course held up fantastically well and was presented in great condition—the soft conditions made for some very low scoring on the day.

This year’s winner was Ramiro Vidal, after a very impressive score of 43 Pts. Playing off a handicap of 10, Ramiro played the course in an incredible 74 strokes gross, comprising 15 pars and 3 bogeys. Finishing one point further back was David Sheridan, with 42 Pts proving enough for second place. Playing off a playing handicap of 22, David played steady golf all day to finish runner up. Third place went to Greg Mitchell, who returned a score of 41 Pts playing off a playing handicap of 23. The highlight of Greg’s round was a birdie on the short par three 9th hole.

The category one top prize went to John Muddiman. Playing off a handicap of 12, John also birdied the par-three 9th hole during an impressive round of 79 gross. The category one runner up was Seamus Byrne, with 37 Pts off a playing handicap of 13. Seamus’s round included a birdie on the long par five 12th hole.

A back nine countback was required to decide the winner of category two, with James Griffin and Vincent Cooke finishing on 39 Pts. With 21 Pts on his closing nine holes, James claimed the top prize in category two, and Vincent finished runner up.

The nearest the pin was won by Michael Sullivan after an impressive tee shot. Topping off a great day for himself, Ramiro Vidal won the longest drive prize.

Last Sunday, our lady members competed against each other for the President’s Prize to the ladies for 2021. The weather was once again compliant on the day, and all the members had a fantastic day. This year’s competition was close, with a back nine countback required to crown the champion. Jacinta Kiernan claimed the title of President’s Prize winner 2021 with Mary Daniel this year’s runner-up. Both ladies returned scores of 30 Pts on the day. The third-place honors went to Anne O’Rourke.

The nearest the pin prize was won by Mary Daniel & the longest drive prize was won by Jacinta Kiernan.

Well done to all the prize winners & congratulations to Ramiro & Jacinta! to all the prize winners. We hope everyone enjoyed the day!